Newport Harbor Yacht Club has enjoyed a long-standing tradition of hosting the Newport to Cabo San Lucas Yacht Race. Since its first race in 1971, sailors have enjoyed the 800 mile race down the Baja coastline to the warm weather and big breeze of Cabo San Lucas. Over the 40+ years of hosting the Cabo Race, NHYC has witnessed the tremendous evolution of  yacht design and offshore sailing. Typical entries in the 70’s and early 80’s we IOR boats with unique downwind sailing characteristics; the ultralight (ULDB) boats arrived in the early 80’s with the Santa Cruz 50 making their debut in 1981.  These offwind speedsters opened the door to bigger ULDB’s and the 70 footers began their reign of the Mexican Races in the mid 80’s. Bigger, faster boats evolved through the 80’s into the 90’s with the development of the 80 footers like Magnitude and Pyewacket.  These boats brought along asymmetrical spinnakers, canting keels, and daggerboards.  Elapsed times records were always at stake once the 80 footers arrived.

Today we see a resurgence of the legacy ULDB boats with the 50 and 70 footers returning to the West Coast for the offwind races like Cabo and Transpac. We also continue to see new designs in all size ranges and speeds to compete in these tremendous offwind races.

Previous Overall Winners of the Newport to Cabo San Lucas Yacht Race:

Year Boat Owner
 1971  Kahili  Wright / Ficker
 1973  Moonday  G.A. Wolfard
 1975  Ariana  George Thorsen
 1977 Miramar  John Scripps
 1979  Swiftsure  Nick Frazee
 1981  Intrepid  John Delaura
 1983  Celerity  Bill Ostermiller
 1985  Swiftsure  Nick & Robert Frazee
 1987  Ragtime  Pat Farrah
 1989  Silver Bullet  John Delaura
 1991  Silver Bullet  John Delaura
 2002  J-Bird  David Janes
 2005  Peregrine  Simon Garland
 2007  Grand Illusion  Edward McDowell
 2009  Stark Raving Mad V  James Madden
 2011  Horizon  Jack Taylor
 2013  Pyewacket  Roy P. Disney
 2015  Pyewacket  Roy P. Disney